Appreciate Talents : Jeswin Rebello : Light Painting

Light Painting is getting noticed in India and gradually gaining more popularity. Rippled- All India Radio’s The Silent Surf Music with Light painting had racked up nearly 3 Lakhs views in youtube.

Jewsin Rebello one of the most inspired talents in light painting photography grabbed our attention in facebook. Thanks to Srividya- a blogger and a good human, had introduced Jeswin’s Photographs to Propel Steps.  We located him on Facebook and tried our luck for simple chat interview. Here are his words

Where and what about you Jeswin?

I am from Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu but my native place is Cochin, Kerala. I have finished my B.COM degree in Coimbatore,

How light painting grabbed you into its world?

From childhood itself I had interest in drawing and designing from erasers and chalk pieces. I got introduced to the photography world through my basic point and shoot Sony digital cam, where one day I took it along with me to see a super bike race in Chettipalayam, Coimbatore, were I accidentally took a panning shot, I was so curious to know about it and how I took that shot, so I searched in the web while doing that I came across the topic light painting in one of the website, as always curiosity led me to learn more about it, and I started to save my pocket money for a year and bought a DSLR to try light painting,

To go out and reach people always works:

I met other light painters from other countries through the Flickr Website, started to learn more about light painting by viewing other light painters works everyday and slowly I started to develop my skills in light painting.

Why Light Painting?

What drives me to do light painting is that it’s so fun and challenging, because each concept has to be visualized and I won’t be able to know about the outcome of my work unless I finish my painting and go back and see my DSLR LCD screen and you won’t be able to do the same painting twice because there is no starting or ending point all of my work is purely based on visualization and guessing and painting in air, so for me each shot is a precious one.

What about your life now?

I and my elder brother are looking after my dad’s business now.

So where are you heading towards?

My only ambition was to exhibit my light painting works and gain more exposure for light painting art in India and to teach this art for those who are willing.

Talents like Jeswin Rebello needs continuous encouragement from us. “Your passion and career may not be aligned in the same track. You many need to be in two professions one for earning the basic money for your life and another to feed your passion.” This is the Scenario for many ambitious talents in India. Some got the freedom to handle both, some got the freedom to pursue their passion. Yet many talents are compromised due to life’s pressure on monetary needs. It’s up to us to encourage each other’s vision and keep the clock ticking for the moment of success.

There are many to encourage talents, Propel steps too will ensure to contribute our tiny appreciation for the impeccable talents like Jeswin Rebello. We wish him all the best for the pursuit of his ambition and here by blocking our invitation on advance for his exhibition on the incandescent futures🙂

Courtesy : Srividhya (www.srivalaipakkam.blogspot.com) and Jeswin Rebello

-Words by Din

What is Light Painting?

Light painting is a photographic technique in which exposures are made by moving a hand-held light source or by moving the camera. The term light painting also encompasses images lit from outside the frame with hand-held light sources.

In 1949 Pablo Picasso was visited by Gjon Mili, a photographer and lighting innovator, who introduced Picasso to his photographs of ice skaters with lights attached to their skates. Immediately Picasso started making images in the air with a small flashlight in a dark room. This series of photos became known as Picasso’s “light drawings.” Of these photos, the most celebrated and famous is known as “Picasso draws a centaur in the air.”

By moving the light source, the light can be used to selectively illuminate parts of the subject or to “paint” a picture by shining it directly into the camera lens. Light painting requires a slow shutter speed, usually a second or more. Light painting can take on the characteristics of a quick pencil sketch.

Light painting by moving the camera, also called camera painting, is the antithesis of traditional photography. At night, or in a dark room, the camera can be taken off the tripod and used like a paintbrush. An example is using the night sky as the canvas, the camera as the brush and cityscapes (amongst other light sources) as the palette. Putting energy into moving the camera by stroking lights, making patterns and laying down backgrounds can create abstract artistic images.

Light painting can be done interactively using a webcam. The painted image can already be seen while drawing by using a monitor or projector.

Another technique used in the creation of light art is the projection of images on to irregular surfaces (faces, bodies, buildings etc.), in effect “painting” them with light. A photograph or other fixed portrayal of the resulting image is then made.

A variety of light sources can be used, ranging from simple flashlights to dedicated devices like the Hosemaster, which uses a fiber optic light pen.[4] Other sources of light including candles, matches, fireworks, lighter flints,glowsticks, and Poi are also popular.

tripod is usually necessary due to the long exposure times involved. Alternatively, the camera may be placed on or braced against a table or other solid support. A shutter release cable or self timer is generally employed in order to minimize camera shake. Color Gels can also be used to color the light sources.

Courtesy: Wikipedia

4 thoughts on “Appreciate Talents : Jeswin Rebello : Light Painting

  1. Will share it with my brother, he will love it. He is trying professional photography.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Propel Steps : Archive : 2013 : All Posts | PROPEL STEPS

We are blogging just for you! Nothing gives fulfillment than your feedback. Love your opinion :)

