Touching Story : “We Can Save Her”

“She is a just 7 years old Doctor! How come?” I could not control my tears. “What to do? Sometimes even we doctors have no answers, even if we do, it is so difficult to answer at a situation like this. It is so rare and probability is 1 in a million gets this kind of cancer! At least we have found it very early. Let us hope for the best. You can take her for the best treatment available, we can save her…” the doctor continued telling some medical terms for explaining her condition but I listened to nothing but echoes of the words “We can save her…!”

A small girl being examined by the doctor.I walk out of the room, my heart beats are being replaced by “We can save her”. I knew the money needed is too big to our savings, insurance claims and our little properties. My family approached me and my wife asked me with questions on her eyes “Nothing right? When can we take her home? I know all because of not having proper food! You pampered her too much. I am not going to listen to you both anymore.” She sounded so innocent like her child.

Pappa(child) needs some healthy proper food, as you said. It is available only in a bigger hospital. We need to take her there immediately!” I took her palms on my eyes. She could feel my tears drenching her fingers “What happened dear?, do not scare us!”

I explained them. “We can save her!, Right that’s enough! Let us see that than crying”, I have never seen an innocent wife behave so bravely! She is so determined as a mother and walked to the room where they kept our daughter. We followed her and seen her with some new found respect for her.

Pappa, I told you not to have too much ice creams with your daddy! See now you got severe fever and the Doctor uncle is going to put a big injection to you! Will you listen to me hereafter?” she said as sweetly anger as she used to be with her always. I am stunned at her composure. “No Ice Cream, No inkjetion😦 ” my angel is sad to hear the word injection.

Two days passed, “So we are here in this big hospital for that big inkjetion?” she uttered with the same sad mood. Still she could not pronounce injection correct! I just answered her “yes, but not big inkjetion dear, mommy scares you for not eating ice cream do not worry daddy will get big Ice Creams”. My wife turned her look at me and turned my face to my child.

We have just one day to pay the remaining fees. I left her in the room with my parents “You play with Grandma and Grandpa, Daddy gonna get you some Mui Mui (jelly in her language)”, she smiled at me.

My wife and her parents just arrived as I opened the door. They have paid a little more money they could but still that is not sufficient. I was having no idea where to ask for money and my friends also shared as much as they can. Even on Facebook my friends made some attempt to raise funds, some call to inquire legitimacy, which I have no time to prove them so I have even given my phone to my friend to handle the calls.

This the day! They are making all the arrangements for the surgery. One doctor walked towards me with a form, which I thought the usual form. But the doctor explained “We no longer delay or hold treatments for the sake of money! Even we have kids! So just read this document which will explain you everything”. He walked in the direction of the Operation Theatre handing over that file to me.

My mind is filled with questions and some strange happiness! I could read the document, but I kept it aside as it’s time to reach my angel. “Daddy, why I wear this green dress, I want yellow one!” she said immediately after seeing me. My wife still has the question about the remaining fees. “Listen to Mommy sweetheart, green is doctor uncle’s favorite color, he will smile at you and may forget the inkjetion“, I said. “Really!” she wowed. “Yes dear, you look so beautiful in this dress”, her mom said kissing her on forehead with her hand holding my hand.

The staff nurses have come to take her to the operation theatre. And our little angel is so sweet and happy to go with them. Usually she never goes easy with strangers, not a crying type child but smart one who never trust strangers unless we accompany her. I and my wife just walked along with her as long as we could hold her little fingers.

They have taken her in. We need to wait for three hours outside. “Dear, what happened to the remaining amount? I know somehow you will arrange.” my wife asked. I told her that I could not manage to arrange and also told her the doctor’s words few minutes before. She got the file from me and started reading.

“We Can Save – initiative has paid the complete fees of the medical procedures for your child’s recovery. We hope she comes back to you as she used to be…” The first line of the document itself stunned us.

On reading further we have come to know that it was a foundation started by a rich couple who lost their son to a tragedic cancer diagnosed at an advanced stage. They could have spent any billions to save him but it was very late. So they had no other choice to pray for his soul rest in peace. Later they worked on with many doctors, hospitals and families to find a feasible solution for these kind of extreme situations and save lives. They are luckily rich to have enough money to spend, what about others who do not have that money! They knew very well the love remains the same for all. Families always love their children, so do young kids love their parents. Anybody can fall victim. They just wanted a long term solution for this.

So they came up with this idea to create a common treasury funded by all the doctors, hospitals and the public who know the impact of such critical conditions. Doctors contribute a part of their salary, so as hospitals do it from their profits and public too do offer some donations voluntarily. The couple donated a huge amount and started this foundation.

In order to keep the genuinty of the foundation they never advertised about it, even the names of the founders are kept as secret, saying “If you want genuinely help someone, never expect your name to be mentioned!”

Our eyes filled with tears as my wife read the last few lines. “We can understand your love for your beloved one, we can understand your hardship how much you struggled to arrange that money for saving his/her soul. You could do it, you did as much as you can! There are many out there who cannot even arrange a small part of this money! But the soul and the love remain the same for them too. Why money should be a measure of our love? So we have paid the complete fees on behalf of you.

You can submit this document to the billing desk and collect your fees back. Else you can fill the form on the next page to make a donation from the fees you have paid to “We Can Save”. Thank you for spreading love!”

The document ended. Our eyes are filled with tears and joy to feel such love and kindness. There we have seen no discriminations the world outside, but has only pure humanity. I started filling the donation form and filled the amount. My wife just confirmed whether it is equal to the total what we have paid at the bill-desk.

The doctor walked out with smiling face and said “I told you the we can save her!”🙂 I hugged him and thanked him for everything. He just smiled and walked. We submitted the form at the bill-desk and walked back to see our angel in her second birth🙂

– Words by Din

9 thoughts on “Touching Story : “We Can Save Her”

  1. Pingback: Propel Steps : Archive : 2013 : Most Read Posts | PROPEL STEPS

  2. Pingback: Propel Steps : Archive : 2013 : Most Read Posts | PROPEL STEPS

  3. A BIG WOWWWW…… If that foundation really exists ?

    Like

  4. Lovely story and narration🙂 a feel good ending as well.

    Like

We are blogging just for you! Nothing gives fulfillment than your feedback. Love your opinion :)

