Beautiful Words : From an Alzheimer Patient

Image Credits : Berkozturk

Image Credits : Berkozturk

Dear Friend,

Oh, how can this be

You and I are losing me.

Some day soon

Maybe morning, Maybe noon

I will no longer be the me

You and I know as me.

I ask, what is happening to me,

And the answer seems to be

Words and thoughts frequently scramble

And my conversations seem to ramble.

O, how can this be

You and I are losing me.

What do you see when you look into my eyes?

And neighbors just to pry?

Confusion, hurt, pity and pain,

For I am ill and not insane.

Oh Lord, help me I pray,

And this is what He seems to say,

“Fear not child, I will come and take you home,

To be with me for all eternity.”

What can we do from losing me?

“Nothing” say the experts.

But in my confused and foggy state,

To you I plea,

“Love me,

Remember me

Help me to be

All that I can be

For as long as I can be

The me we know as me.”


Courtesy & Credits : Originally written by Janis Hogan Aplin


4 thoughts on “Beautiful Words : From an Alzheimer Patient

We are blogging just for you! Nothing gives fulfillment than your feedback. Love your opinion :)

